Apparently I’m very emotional? “Fatigue is a brain-derived emotion” (article)

Found this really interesting article (via Old Munki BJJ) that talks about the feeling of fatigue and it’s roots int he brain and central nervous system. I’ve previously read about CNS fatigue in terms of heavy and dynamic lifting (e.g. deadlifts, olympic lifts).

It also made me think of two videos I’ve seen about the brain and body connection. The first was a show I watched on the red-eye back from Maui one time called The Automatic Brain: The Power of the Unconscious. Basically, it’s about how much has to be regulated and controlled by our mind with the focus being on how little conscious control we really have over any of it.

The second was on how the brain deals with pain, called Why Things Hurt by Lorimer Moseley from a TED Talk. It’s only 15 minutes and worth the time; a funny and interesting take on the purpose of pain and how it works.

3 responses to “Apparently I’m very emotional? “Fatigue is a brain-derived emotion” (article)

  • Chewy

    Well , we are all “emotional” regardless of how much of it we will openly show. Now fatigue can definitely open the door for your negative emotions to run wild. Of course this is nothing that a little rest won’t fix. :)

    • Kishiuchi

      Definitely, I have a pretty high fatigue/negativity correlation. It’s just a matter of noticing it before it starts to affect my behaviour too much.

      • Chewy

        Yup, same here. There have been times where I was exausted and found myself being almost depressed. Then I realized I had several hard days with no break. So I make sure to get to bed early and ease up the next day.

Leave a Reply

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Ryan Clements

I write about things that interest me: entrepreneurship, sales, performance psychology, engagement, leadership, mastery, conducting life experiments, unconventional career planning, and brazilian jiu-jitsu

The Patient Grappler

A blog about submission grappling

The Efficient Grappler

Experiments in improved ways to throw, armbar and choke people

The Universal Chan

Striving to be the pinnacle of achievement in the field of excellence

PSYCHOLOGY WOD

Enhancing Performance in Sport & in Life

Sam Harris: Author, neuroscientist, philosopher.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie girl, exploring the world - and training BJJ.

Aventures in Ju Jitsu

Just another WordPress.com site

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Tap or Die

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jonathan Willis on Hockey - Main

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Marshal D. Carper's Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Black Dog Hates Skunks

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Archaeologuy

Lana...Lana!...LANAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Live Hard

Because you only get one go at it.

70's Big

Lifting weights, large muscles, short shorts, mustaches, tank tops, flannel and beards.

Art of Grappling

Throw.Pin.Submit.

Boys on the Bus

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lex's BJJ and Judo Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Josh Vogel Art

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jeff Shaw's MATC blog

One grain of sand on the Internet's beach, but star-shaped Ishigaki sand

DSTRYRsg: Destroyer Submission Grappling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Aesopian BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Dirty White Belt: A BJJ Blog

Adventures in Tapping

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

The BJJ Caveman

A blog dedicated to BJJ and the paleo lifestyle

Working Class Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Blog

Scramble

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

meerkatsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Photos and News - BJJPix

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ Hacks

– Jiu-Jitsu TV

Chewjitsu

A bjj blog

Old Munki BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness, Diet and Healthy Lifestyle for Old Munkis

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

Grappling and BJJ tips by Liam The Part-Time Grappler Wandi

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

mc79hockey.com

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lowetide.ca

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Gentle Art

A Brazilian Jiu Jitsu weblog.

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Inner BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ News

We Search The Web For Jiu Jitsu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

