BJJ Session # 23 – Bottom half

Back to class and into drilling techniques from bottom half guard. Our prof outlined some of the structure of the curriculum that we’ll be covering over the next few months, the weekly/monthly cycles, and the introduction (for me, at least) of the progressive guard system for grading in the spring. My personal instinct when doing most things is to ‘wing it’, but I’ve learned that I work best within a structure… if that makes any sense. Like, let me know the rules of the game, the parameters and expectations and then I’m comfortable being creative within those spaces. If I can remove the insecurity and uncertainty of a situation (i.e. understanding the landscape) I’m comfortable winging it within. So, although the current/previous format of class was great (when you have literally everything to learn and a long way to go it doesn’t matter what your first few steps look like… just as long as you take them) I liked hearing about the structure to come.

As for grading, I think it will be interesting as well. I’m not very concerned about obtaining a certain promotion, but it’s always nice to get some sort of yardstick of where you are. One of the main reasons I’m not focused on getting promotions is that I’m already nearly maxed out on the time I can devote to BJJ. Two classes a week plus one or two open mats a month is about all I can fit in right now. Having a limit placed on my mat time means that it wouldn’t make much sense to have high (or any) expectations for progressing through the ranks. I’m trying to focus on doing BJJ because I like BJ, enjoy the physical challenge and the learning process.

So, on to getting out from bottom half guard. We started from side control bottom, and would catch our partner’s leg as he tried to high step over. Once in half guard, our partner had three advantages: me flat on my back, far arm underhook, and shoulder crossface. There was a really technically term used here, but it amounted to trying to negate and reverse those three advantages. 1) Bridge into and hip escape away until on my side, knee on hip. 2) Put our outside arm in and under his and reach around to his back, grabbing his belt. 3) Work near side hand in and onto his bicep to take away crossface.

From there we drilled two escapes. First was exiting out the back door to take his back. Kicking my leg down to create some momentum slip down and reach around to grab his far hip. Then scoot back pulling him onto my thigh, arms over/under and clasped up high, both hooks in on his upper thighs. That seems simple enough, but the timing, distance control and points of pressure on him took some time to get right. Or, a little more right than the “totally wrong” it started out as.

Then the next escape was replacing closed guard. As he tried to block your hip escape away from him, bring my near side knee up in front of his leg, switch my hips to get that leg out and close guard. This one seemed a little more intuitive. From here we went on to drilling with progressive resistance. The key to it was to introduce aliveness to the drilling so that we could practice the drills and techniques with resistance that gradually increased, somewhere in the 40% to 60% range. If I’m on top and my partner escapes every time with ease: too easy, turn it up a bit. Has trouble escaping at all: turn it down a bit. For me, I found that the escape I ended up doing 80%was replacing my guard. Probably for two reasons; first, taking the back is the more technically difficult of the two and, two, if I’m on top I’d rather be in someone’s guard then have them on my back.

After that, a few rounds of sparring. All in all, pretty good class for me. Still figuring things out, but slowly patterns are emerging. Class again tonight.

4 responses to “BJJ Session # 23 – Bottom half

  • artofgrappling

    Great stuff, I actually love bottom half guard because of all the sweeps ala Eddie Bravo and his lock down. I was trying to find your contact info on the blog but had no luck! I was wondering how you get your main page posts to show up as excerpts and how you set up authors for different posts? Any help would be awesome!

    • Kishiuchi

      Thanks, as for excerpts on the main page, there’s a button in the editor called “Insert More Tag” that creates a page break.
      As for authors, I’ve never done it but in the wordpress dashboard there is an “invite new user” tab that I think you can do that with. Hope that helps!
      Also, I saw your last post and recognized Julian. He trains sometimes at my gym.

  • BJJ Session # 24 – Rinse, Repeat « Around the Harbour

    [...] my own half guard DVD instructional. With all that being said, it’s interesting how the same lesson and drills can seem so different 24 hours later.Really, most of the difference came in the drill [...]

Leave a Reply

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Ryan Clements

starting today, be the hero of your story

The Patient Grappler

A blog about submission grappling

The Efficient Grappler

Experiments in improved ways to throw, armbar and choke people

The Universal Chan

Striving to be the pinnacle of achievement in the field of excellence

PSYCHOLOGY WOD

Enhancing Performance in Sport & in Life

Sam Harris: Author, neuroscientist, philosopher.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie girl, exploring the world - and training BJJ.

Aventures in Ju Jitsu

Just another WordPress.com site

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jonathan Willis on Hockey - Main

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Marshal D. Carper's Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Black Dog Hates Skunks

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Archaeologuy

Lana...Lana!...LANAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Live Hard

Because you only get one go at it.

70's Big

Lifting weights, large muscles, short shorts, mustaches, tank tops, flannel and beards.

Art of Grappling

Throw.Pin.Submit.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lex's BJJ and Judo Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Josh Vogel Art

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jeff Shaw's MATC blog

One grain of sand on the Internet's beach, but star-shaped Ishigaki sand

DSTRYRsg: Destroyer Submission Grappling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Aesopian BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Dirty White Belt: A BJJ Blog

Adventures in Tapping

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

The BJJ Caveman

A blog dedicated to BJJ and the paleo lifestyle

Working Class Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Blog

Scramble

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

meerkatsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Photos and News - BJJPix

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ Hacks

– Jiu-Jitsu TV

Chewjitsu

A bjj blog

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

Grappling and BJJ tips by Liam The Part-Time Grappler Wandi

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

mc79hockey.com

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lowetide.ca

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Gentle Art

A Brazilian Jiu Jitsu weblog.

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Inner BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Psychology of BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ News

We Search The Web For Jiu Jitsu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

