BJJ Session # 26/27 – Survive

One perspective which you could look at life from would be this: life is about reps. The more reps you get at something  the better you get. The fewer reps you have at something, the worse you are. The instances of “natural” talent blooming the instant someone picks up a stick, club, ball, pen, paintbrush or musical instrument are infinitesimally rare. Sure, there are people who seem to “get” things better than others, the task fitting their brains a bit better than others, but those out there that are performing something at a high level all have something in common. Reps. Thousands upon thousands of reps. In all situations, under all conditions, from all angles. When everyone is watching, and when you’re all alone. You don’t shoot the puck like this in a live game without thousands of reps:

kesselshot

There are a million books written about this, and my brief elaboration above is an oversimplification, but the basic truth remains: there is no substitute for reps if the goal is mastery. It seems the universal experience when starting BJJ is this: you will get a lot of reps at trying to survive. 

We continued to work on the drills from the previous few classes; bottom half guard, move to his back, RNC or arm triangle. All the details are making a little more sense, and really, everything right now is about reps. More reps, but not just of technique or drilling sequences. Reps at positions and situations, in particular during sparring. I got it in my head early last week that at my current stage I should be focusing on surviving, especially in bad positions. Bottom of: mount, side-mount, knee-on-belly, etc. Try to really be aware of whats happening while I’m down there and pay attention to the path that leads to my submission from there. Not that I’m not trying to escape or sweep, but I was trying to make sure I didn’t flail and go too fast while trying to escape and not be able to distinguish which one of the many mistakes I made led to my demise.

So, once sparring started at the end of class (as well as at open mat the next morning), I tried in all the usual ways, but once my opponent swept me or advanced their position, I tried to be methodical. Not slow (although I’m sure some of was overly so), just methodical. If I was under knee-on-belly, get safe first. Arms in, collars protected, grips broken, etc. Then, try to move from there to a slightly better position while maintaining  that safety. Obviously, this did not succeed all of the time. Or, most of the time. It lead to a lot of arm bars and chokes. And, so many bruises I looked like a leopard. But, in the end, I honestly felt that I had a (slightly) better, (slightly) deeper understanding of why and how those things were happening. Not that I’m close to being “safe” while rolling against more experienced guys, but… closer.

Leave a Reply

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Ryan Clements

Authenticity, Fulfillment and Flow

The Patient Grappler

A blog about submission grappling

The Efficient Grappler

Experiments in improved ways to throw, armbar and choke people

The Universal Chan

Striving to be the pinnacle of achievement in the field of excellence

PSYCHOLOGY WOD

Enhancing Performance in Sport & in Life

Sam Harris: Author, neuroscientist, philosopher.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie girl, exploring the world - and training BJJ.

Aventures in Ju Jitsu

Just another WordPress.com site

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Tap or Die

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jonathan Willis on Hockey - Main

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Marshal D. Carper's Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Black Dog Hates Skunks

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Archaeologuy

Lana...Lana!...LANAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Live Hard

Because you only get one go at it.

70's Big

Lifting weights, large muscles, short shorts, mustaches, tank tops, flannel and beards.

Art of Grappling

Throw.Pin.Submit.

Boys on the Bus

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lex's BJJ and Judo Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Josh Vogel Art

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jeff Shaw's MATC blog

One grain of sand on the Internet's beach, but star-shaped Ishigaki sand

DSTRYRsg: Destroyer Submission Grappling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Dirty White Belt: A BJJ Blog

Adventures in Tapping

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

The BJJ Caveman

A blog dedicated to BJJ and the paleo lifestyle

Working Class Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Blog

Scramble

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

meerkatsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Photos and News - BJJPix

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ Hacks

– Jiu-Jitsu TV

Chewjitsu

A bjj blog

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

Grappling and BJJ tips by Liam The Part-Time Grappler Wandi

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lowetide.ca

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Gentle Art

A Brazilian Jiu Jitsu weblog.

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Inner BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ News

We Search The Web For Jiu Jitsu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

