BJJ Session # 34 – Opposable

The last couple of days have been a lesson in just how important some things are that we take for granted. Coffee mugs, door knobs, cell phones, frying pans… it’s a long list of things that become very unwieldy when you’re down 50% of your thumbs. One aspect that I’ve liked about BJJ from the start is the relatively low instance of serious injuries from training. Now, accidents happen in any undertaking, but little bumps and strains don’t bother me too much. Up until this week, I’ve avoided any injuries of the more serious nature; the kind that limits your training and starts to affect your daily life. Things like getting your thumb caught during at poor attempt at a balloon sweep. Frustrating and annoying is what it comes down to; I’ve just reached a point where things make more sense and I felt like there was some progress being made.

We had worked through some grip breaking and other self defense standing escapes/counters and were working on a balloon sweep when someone grabs both your lapels. Step back, control the back of their elbows, lift a foot to their hip while you sit down, use their momentum to leverage them up and over. I was too tentative, not because I was worried about hurting myself but because I was worried I was going to dump my partner on his head in a awkward fashion. About three or four reps in, he was going over in a weird way and I adjusted my arm out to…, I don’t know, catch him? Ultimately my fault and my responsibility. It is after all, my thumb that was hanging out there. A lot of his weight landed on my thumb and before I could slip my elbow out from underneath. I heard/felt some gross crunching sounds. Tried to work the next drill, which was top control from mount, but by then my thumb was throbbing and screaming at the slightest brush. Time to take a week off and come back Tuesday (with the thumb taped in a sloth-hand position, I think). The lesson learned: arms in, thumbs in.


One response to “BJJ Session # 34 – Opposable

Leave a Reply

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Ryan Clements

I write about things that interest me: entrepreneurship, sales, performance psychology, engagement, leadership, mastery, conducting life experiments, unconventional career planning, and brazilian jiu-jitsu

The Patient Grappler

A blog about submission grappling

The Efficient Grappler

Experiments in improved ways to throw, armbar and choke people

The Universal Chan

Striving to be the pinnacle of achievement in the field of excellence

PSYCHOLOGY WOD

Enhancing Performance in Sport & in Life

Sam Harris: Author, neuroscientist, philosopher.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie girl, exploring the world - and training BJJ.

Aventures in Ju Jitsu

Just another WordPress.com site

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Tap or Die

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jonathan Willis on Hockey - Main

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Marshal D. Carper's Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Black Dog Hates Skunks

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Archaeologuy

Lana...Lana!...LANAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Live Hard

Because you only get one go at it.

70's Big

Lifting weights, large muscles, short shorts, mustaches, tank tops, flannel and beards.

Art of Grappling

Throw.Pin.Submit.

Boys on the Bus

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lex's BJJ and Judo Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Josh Vogel Art

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jeff Shaw's MATC blog

One grain of sand on the Internet's beach, but star-shaped Ishigaki sand

DSTRYRsg: Destroyer Submission Grappling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Aesopian BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Dirty White Belt: A BJJ Blog

Adventures in Tapping

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

The BJJ Caveman

A blog dedicated to BJJ and the paleo lifestyle

Working Class Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Blog

Scramble

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

meerkatsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Photos and News - BJJPix

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ Hacks

– Jiu-Jitsu TV

Chewjitsu

A bjj blog

Old Munki BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness, Diet and Healthy Lifestyle for Old Munkis

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

Grappling and BJJ tips by Liam The Part-Time Grappler Wandi

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

mc79hockey.com

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lowetide.ca

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Gentle Art

A Brazilian Jiu Jitsu weblog.

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Inner BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ News

We Search The Web For Jiu Jitsu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

