Dose

I’m honestly pretty impressed with people who are able to write/blog regularly while leading a “normal” life (i.e. they don’t write for a living). I’ve had the best of intentions but free time tends to get allocated pretty quickly.  Regardless, I’ve mentioned that writing about stuff is nice because it provides some perspective, and that’s something that everyone could use a little more of, especially me. I think that committing a thought to paper (pixels?) and knowing that it’s out there in the world for people to read makes you look at the position of perspective you’re holding a little differently, like a little dose of self-therapy.

Golf season came and went (all time low of 6 rounds played *sad trombone*), hockey has started on three fronts for us; U6 for my oldest (with me coaching), beer league for me, and the Shakespearean tragedy that is the Oilers.

We been trying to move to a more commute friendly area of the city, and for the first time in our brief and infrequent real estate adventures have found the market to be slow and inconsistent.

The oldest started kindergarten and the youngest switched daycares, and for the most part everything has been a rousing success. Work has been busy (don’t they know I have to blog about bjj?!?!) and we’ve run though the back-to-school sicknesses, which this year included a lovely round of asthma symptoms, which is basically like a punishing knee-on-chest… but for every. second. of. the. day. Boo-urns.

So, in an effort to (re)start a habit… here are some thoughts leading up to my one year anniversary of starting BJJ.

  • Jiu-jitsu is still very hard. Even though I know so much more than when I started, it’s still pretty much as hard or harder now, given that I now know how much I didn’t know… or something. It’s also still super fun.
  • but, I am much better! Some of the basic moves that I struggled with (stupid shrimping) seem close to second nature, and I’m even feeling a sensation of what I believe will eventually turn into confidence while rolling (*fingers crossed*)
  • I went to Gui Mendes seminar, which… was slightly over my head, but really fun and interesting none the less. Of the million or so things he taught (at least that’s what it felt like) I did manage to take some things that I think will help; more focus on underhooks, staying on feet and being fast while passing guard, usefulness of the kimura grip for a lot of things other than just kimura-ing someone. Also, it’s always cool to see elite athletes do their thing in person. I’ve seen NHL’ers and pro golfers up close, and this was no different: it almost seems like they’re playing a different sport.
  • There’s a grading coming up this weekend, but due to all the things I was whining about above, we’re a) just not “practiced” up enough to feel like we could do the demonstration any justice, and b) my son and I have his hockey practice and game at the same time as the grading and seminar both days.
  • I committed to starting nogi this month, too, meaning that I’d be going to an extra 2 classes a week… and I’ve done that exactly once so far. Again, please reference my whining up above, but none the less, I’m looking forward to training a little more. That first nogi class was a huge flashback to how I felt a year ago starting BJJ; fumbling around, getting crossed up, crushed and submitted and not having any real idea of how I got there.
  • and with that, I’ll end it with a highlight clip that I end up watching every couple of days. It’s of the 2013 IBJJF Worlds – Black Belt finals and I find it mesmerizing… something I definitely would not have been saying a year ago:

One response to “Dose

Leave a Reply

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Ryan Clements

Author, Public Speaker and Entrepreneur. Helping People Find The Work That Makes Them Come Alive

The Patient Grappler

A blog about submission grappling

The Efficient Grappler

Experiments in improved ways to throw, armbar and choke people

The Universal Chan

Striving to be the pinnacle of achievement in the field of excellence

PSYCHOLOGY WOD

Enhancing Performance in Sport & in Life

Sam Harris: Author, neuroscientist, philosopher.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie girl, exploring the world - and training BJJ.

Aventures in Ju Jitsu

Just another WordPress.com site

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

Arashi Do Behring Jiu Jitsu

Tap or Die

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jonathan Willis on Hockey - Main

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Marshal D. Carper's Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Black Dog Hates Skunks

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Archaeologuy

Lana...Lana!...LANAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Live Hard

Because you only get one go at it.

70's Big

Lifting weights, large muscles, short shorts, mustaches, tank tops, flannel and beards.

Art of Grappling

Throw.Pin.Submit.

Boys on the Bus

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lex's BJJ and Judo Blog

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Josh Vogel Art

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Jeff Shaw's MATC blog

One grain of sand on the Internet's beach, but star-shaped Ishigaki sand

DSTRYRsg: Destroyer Submission Grappling and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Dirty White Belt: A BJJ Blog

Adventures in Tapping

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

The BJJ Caveman

A blog dedicated to BJJ and the paleo lifestyle

Working Class Jiu-Jitsu

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Blog

Scramble

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

meerkatsu

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Photos and News - BJJPix

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ Hacks

– Jiu-Jitsu TV

Chewjitsu

A bjj blog

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

Grappling and BJJ tips by Liam The Part-Time Grappler Wandi

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Lowetide.ca

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The Gentle Art

A Brazilian Jiu Jitsu weblog.

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

Inner BJJ

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

The fog is lifting... what was I doing again? Adding BJJ and weightlifting to a life full of family, hockey & golf.

BJJ News

We Search The Web For Jiu Jitsu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

